Previous       1992 Europe Summer Festival Tour

Next             1992 Late Summer Tour Of North America

Back to        Still On The Road













Malibu, California

Nanci Griffith session, Bob Dylan’s Home Studio














Malibu, California

Good As I Been To You sessions, Bob Dylan's Garage Studio





Bob Dylan’s Home Studio


Malibu, California


Summer 1992



1.  Boots Of Spanish Leather




Nanci Griffith (vocal & guitar) backed by acoustic guitar, bass and drums.


Bob Dylan (harmonica).


Note. Bob Dylan’s harmonica was overdubbed on the vocal track.


Released on NANCI GRIFFITH: OTHER VOICES, OTHER ROOMS, Elektra Records 61464,  March 2, 1993.


Stereo studio recording, 6 minutes.


Session info updated 15 December 1994.





Bob Dylan's Garage Studio


Malibu, California


Probably Late July – Early August 1992



1.   Frankie & Albert (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

2.   Jim Jones (traditional, with new music by Mick Slocum)

3.   Blackjack Davey (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

4.   Canadee-i-o (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

5.   Sittin' On Top Of The World (Bo Carter/Walter Jacobs)

6.   Little Maggie (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

7.   Hard Times (Stephen Foster)

8.   Step It Up And Go (Blind Boy Fuller)

9.   Tomorrow Night (Sam Coslow/Will Grosz)

10.   Arthur McBride (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

11.   You're Gonna Quit Me (Mance Lipscomb)

12.   Diamond Joe (Tex Logan)

13.   Froggie Went A-Courtin' (traditional, arranged by Bob Dylan)

14.   You Belong To Me (Pee Wee King, Redd Stewart, Chilton Price)



Bob Dylan (guitar & vocal).


5, 9  Bob Dylan harmonica.


Official releases

1-13 released on GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU, Columbia 472 710 2, October 30, 1992.

1-13 released in remastered versions on GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU, Columbia 88691924312-37 as part of the CD box THE COMPLETE ALBUM COLLECTION, VOL. ONE, 5 November 2013.

4, 5, 7, 9  released on Columbia Promo CD single CSK 4857, October, 1992.

8  released on Columbia Promo CD single CSK 4922, Late February, 1993.

9 released on CD PURE DYLAN – AN INTIMATE LOOK AT BOB DYLAN, Sony Music 8 86979 88082 5, 21 October 2011.

11 released on 3 CD box set DYLAN, Columbia 88697114202-D3, 1 October 2007.

14  released on NATURAL BORN KILLERS, Nothing/Interscope 6544-92460-2, August 23, 1994.



Clinton Heylin: The Recording Sessions 1960-1994. St. Martins Press 1995, pp. 189– 192.

Clinton Heylin: Bob Dylan: Behind The Shades. Take Two. Viking 2000, pp. 673–676.


Stereo studio recording, 60 minutes.


Session info updated 24 November 2013.